Planning’s for the birds!

I’m wondering about my own commitment to planning. 

In the past, I have been a strong proponent of planning – in fact my life both personal and professional have been built this way.  I have annual plans, decade plans and tactical plans that address the week-by-week, month-by-month operations of my life. I’ve even written a book about it (SelfScape).

My plans are mental, textual and visual.  They can be found in my diary and on my pin boards at home and at work. 

But then, I began to wonder if John Lennon might be right – that “life is what happens while you are busy making other plans”.

Then, for my birthday, a huge surprise from my husband: motorcycle lessons. Had he checked my diary or my annual planner (so prominently displayed in my office)?  Did he know how I could fit all those extra hours needed for the motorbike lessons into the 26-hour day I already had?

No, he just wanted to ensure I grow old disgracefully.

Leave a Reply

