Outsourcing your life

In his runaway hit, The Four Hour Work Week, author Tim Ferriss features the story of AJ Jacobs, editor-at-large at Esquire magazine, who decided to “outsource his life”.  Jacobs writes:

It began a month ago. I was midway through The World Is Flat, the bestseller by Tom Friedman. I like Friedman, despite his puzzling decision to wear a mustache. His book is all about how outsourcing to India and China is not just for tech support and carmakers but is poised to transform every industry in America, from law to banking to accounting.

I don’t have a corporation; I don’t even have an up-to-date business card. I’m a writer and editor working from home, usually in my boxer shorts or, if I’m feeling formal, my penguin-themed pajama bottoms.

Then again, I think, why should Fortune 500 firms have all the fun? Why can’t I join in on the biggest business trend of the new century? Why can’t I outsource my low-end tasks? Why can’t I outsource my life?

Read on to find out why this trend is just the beginning, as employees work without the boss knowing it.

Leave a Reply

